what program do you guys use to record matches?

For general discussion of Fire Pro Wrestling World topics and news.
User avatar
TigerSword
Owner and Founder
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:21 pm
Location: Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby TigerSword » Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:22 pm

fullbug wrote:
ControlFrenzy wrote:
I want you to download, install, then run TwitchTest: https://r1ch.net/projects/twitchtest

This program will help determine your bitrate settings for OBS. It should tell you in kilobytes per second. When that number is determined, don't go over 3500kb/s. Anything beyond that is pretty much pointless as quality isn't effected much and it puts additional strain on the user's computer and the viewer.

When you've found out what your bitrate is, set your video output to 720p and 60 FPS. This will lessen the strain on your computer as well. OBS is CPU intensive, so your computer may already be struggling if your stream is chugging.

I already have and ran the twitchtest, and found that US East NY NY is the fastest, so I entered 3500, as it was well over that.....Where do I set the video output to 720p and 60 FPS?

Under Video in the settings. 720p is a resolution of 1280x720.
Image
Image

User avatar
Wonderland
Community Member
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Wonderland » Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:39 pm

I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
CF_Dawnbr3ak3r
Community Member
Posts: 1362
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:47 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby CF_Dawnbr3ak3r » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:02 pm

I worked with Fullbug via Steam to see if we could get it going and we're pretty much at the same point where he started originally.

I've recommended he try Open Broadcast Software - instead of Studio - to see if that will help any.

I'm almost certain his hardware isn't strong enough to stream regardless of OBS.
The_PR_Dragon wrote:Dragons, Emus, and Wolves are all hearing impaired. Sounds about right.


User avatar
fullbug
Ohhhhh Yeahhhhh!
Posts: 1861
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:34 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada, Eh?
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullbug » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:07 pm

ControlFrenzy wrote:I worked with Fullbug via Steam to see if we could get it going and we're pretty much at the same point where he started originally.

I've recommended he try Open Broadcast Software - instead of Studio - to see if that will help any.

I'm almost certain his hardware isn't strong enough to stream regardless of OBS.

Yeah, thanx for the help CF, after I get home will give the software one a shot, but yes, not looking good I guess.... :cry:
Guess I may have to live vicariously through others streams..... :lol:

User avatar
fullbug
Ohhhhh Yeahhhhh!
Posts: 1861
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:34 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada, Eh?
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullbug » Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:24 pm

Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Do you happen to have a link to the older version? For some reason I cannot find it.....I assume if I download the older version I have to get rid of the newer program? Its the same thing, just renamed right?
On the bright side, if I cannot stream, I tested out recording video, and that works like a charm, so at least I will have that option...... 8-)

User avatar
Wonderland
Community Member
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Wonderland » Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:41 pm

fullbug wrote:
Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Do you happen to have a link to the older version? For some reason I cannot find it.....I assume if I download the older version I have to get rid of the newer program? Its the same thing, just renamed right?
On the bright side, if I cannot stream, I tested out recording video, and that works like a charm, so at least I will have that option...... 8-)


https://github.com/jp9000/OBS/releases

Download the OBS_0_659b_Installer.exe
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
fullbug
Ohhhhh Yeahhhhh!
Posts: 1861
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:34 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada, Eh?
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullbug » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:27 am

Wonderland wrote:
fullbug wrote:
Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Do you happen to have a link to the older version? For some reason I cannot find it.....I assume if I download the older version I have to get rid of the newer program? Its the same thing, just renamed right?
On the bright side, if I cannot stream, I tested out recording video, and that works like a charm, so at least I will have that option...... 8-)


https://github.com/jp9000/OBS/releases

Download the OBS_0_659b_Installer.exe

Thanx, had my fill of trying to get it going today, but will give it a fresh go in the morning..... 8-)

heelsinc
Community Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby heelsinc » Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:46 am

OBS doesn't seem to edit video after I recorded it. If I'm wrong can someone tell me how and if right whats a good program?

User avatar
fullMETAL
Belt-Designing Crayonicorn
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:07 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullMETAL » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:45 pm

orochigeese wrote:So I'm using Windows 10 now and trying to get a hang of the new tools while also learning how to cap FPW.


I tried the Windows Game Bar and didn't really like the output quality but I can toy with it more.

I had this quality issue as well when I first started; the solution is apparently to sign into the XBox Live app while logged in to Win10, and then change the Game Bar quality setting to High through there. This will allow for 60fps capture (on games that support it, of course; something like Mortal Kombat 9 will actually lock the 60fps framerate down to under 30 during capping with the Game Bar) and the output video quality generally will be somewhere between 5000 and 10000 kbps *minimum*.
See my FPW match caps for example:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXBeSmMCdog
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esL6tzUOWBw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JV0mnGzoiFs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W0vqvSDbbXE

What program would you guys suggest for compressing & editing the raw AVI video that I get from a capture program?

For just compression through conversion to MP4, I've heard nothing but good things about Handbrake and it wound up working really well for me, compressing my multiple-GB PCSX2 AVI captures down to much more manageable MP4s of still comparable quality.
The raw captures for THIS video, for example, were converted before cutting/editing and it still looks really good: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQG5sOdHMIk

As for editing? I still use Adobe Premiere, since...you know...it's Adobe Premiere.
Though, wasn't there a thread before talking about using the free Lightworks Studio?
Escargot in 5 minutes or your dignity back!

heelsinc
Community Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby heelsinc » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:54 pm

Yea I couldn't find a free version of lightworks. I got windows movie maker going to try it today

User avatar
orochigeese
E-Fed Pimp
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:37 am
Location: Omega Road
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby orochigeese » Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:41 pm

Thanks for that VERY informative post, FM :D :idea: :markout:

I am going to check that out in detail. I did have some more recent success for FPW videos by pumping up the volume controls in the Game Bar and in Steam/FPW itself. The newest video that I did has normalized audio and relatively strong video. I am definitely going to try out all your suggestions though.


I used free Lightworks last year and had some decent success. But I can't seem to get sections of videos to "attach" together to form one coherent video. When doing the above entrance video, I tried adding picture logos (just JPGs, nothing fancy :lol: ) and when I outputted the video, the sections of the video outputted as their own video. The program is unwieldy for me at times in regards to understanding basic commands.
Image
Image

swarles
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby swarles » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:11 pm

sorry to bump an old thread but this seemed like the best place to ask. Is anyone having issues capturing FPWW in OBS recently? I've been using OBS to stream for months without issue, and now when i try to stream it either gives me a black screen in obs, or it captures whats underneath fire pro in OBS. I tried a bunch of fixes i found online, reinstalled OBS, etc and i'm still having the issue. just thought someone here might have ran into the same thing?

I have a video about it that might make more sense: https://www.twitch.tv/videos/214447183

User avatar
Four Skulls
Community Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:14 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Four Skulls » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:24 pm

Tried hitting windows key+G to open the Windows Game bar and nothing happened? Is there some other set up for this? Running Win10 here.

User avatar
orochigeese
E-Fed Pimp
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:37 am
Location: Omega Road
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby orochigeese » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:58 pm

Make sure the game is running and press Win+G multiple times.

If that fails, go into the Xbox app for Windows and see if you have to configure anything.
Image
Image

User avatar
fullMETAL
Belt-Designing Crayonicorn
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:07 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullMETAL » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:34 pm

Four Skulls wrote:Tried hitting windows key+G to open the Windows Game bar and nothing happened? Is there some other set up for this? Running Win10 here.

Yeah, my suggestion would be to just keep pressing Win+G (waiting a few seconds after doing so between each time) until the Game Bar shows up.
Escargot in 5 minutes or your dignity back!

User avatar
Four Skulls
Community Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:14 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Four Skulls » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:51 pm

fullMETAL wrote:
Four Skulls wrote:Tried hitting windows key+G to open the Windows Game bar and nothing happened? Is there some other set up for this? Running Win10 here.

Yeah, my suggestion would be to just keep pressing Win+G (waiting a few seconds after doing so between each time) until the Game Bar shows up.


I think I just don't have it. I did a search for "Game" and it didn't turn up anything, and hitting Win+G just isn't popping it up. I use Nvidia to record, so it's probably not a big deal.

User avatar
fullMETAL
Belt-Designing Crayonicorn
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:07 am
Location: New York City
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby fullMETAL » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:43 pm

If the XBox App is installed to your Windows 10 install (which I assume it's installed by default for any newer laptops that come with Win10), you can go into its Settings and if the Game Bar's not enabled, you can enable it and set the shortcut key to activate it.
In addition, clicking the Gaming button in the Settings window will take you to a config as well, where you can enable everything if they aren't already enabled.
Escargot in 5 minutes or your dignity back!

User avatar
RavenBrighid
Community Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:01 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby RavenBrighid » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:03 pm

Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Sorry to bump, but this guide isn't showing up? I'm trying to figure out the best settings so I can stream as I've been having issues with it being choppy, especially when I click away from fire pro (which if I cant do that makes it hard to chat and stuff while I stream.)

User avatar
CF_Dawnbr3ak3r
Community Member
Posts: 1362
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:47 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby CF_Dawnbr3ak3r » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:16 pm

RavenBrighid wrote:
Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Sorry to bump, but this guide isn't showing up? I'm trying to figure out the best settings so I can stream as I've been having issues with it being choppy, especially when I click away from fire pro (which if I cant do that makes it hard to chat and stuff while I stream.)


If you don't have a second monitor, using the mobile app may help. Otherwise you can pop out the chat window. However, your stream feed will likely be 15+ seconds behind the actual gameplay being broadcast. I usually have my game running on one screen to watch on the OBS window and another window open on my other screen with my broadcast running as if I were another viewer.

To get your stream setup correctly, you can try the OBS Estimator and see if it helps:

http://www.obsapp.net/estimator/

You'll need to know your hardware specifications and internet speeds. For Twitch you probably don't want to surpass 3500kbps - I don't go over 3000kbps. The max you want is 4000kbps, and even then that's pretty overkill for a non-partnered stream. Anything over that and you're running the risk of being reprimanded by Twitch for abusing bandwidth.

In the case of hardware, if you system struggles with World on it's own, then it will more than likely struggle even while streaming. You'll want to set it up so that you'll be downscaling to 720p. 1080p is not worth the effort unless you have a very good PC and very good internet connection.

You'll also need your stream key which you should find by replacing "yourtwitchname" in the following link:

https://www.twitch.tv/yourtwitchname/da ... /streamkey

Copy or Right-click "Open in New Tab" will get you the full link.

You'll need to be logged in for it to show up successfully.

I suggest downloading and running TwitchTest to see which server you should ping to. If you're in the Midwest or East Coast, I recommend either the Chicago or Ashburn server.

You can download that here:

https://r1ch.net/projects/twitchtest

That should get you started.
The_PR_Dragon wrote:Dragons, Emus, and Wolves are all hearing impaired. Sounds about right.


User avatar
Carlzilla
Community Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Carlzilla » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:26 pm

I use OBS Studio. I have the original OBS too...but I find studio to be better.

weedboy
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 2:04 am
Location: NYC 34th Street

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby weedboy » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:55 pm

I use Nvidia Shadow play. Excellent video quality, low file sizes and it is free if you have an applicable graphics card from
the last few years. You also do not take any frame drops while recording like with fraps.

User avatar
soak314
Community Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:57 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby soak314 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:57 pm

Carlzilla wrote:I use OBS Studio. I have the original OBS too...but I find studio to be better.


Seconding. I thought studio would be clunkier or more resource intensive but it's just plain better.

User avatar
Zealot
Galastream Owner
Posts: 1268
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:22 am
Location: Shadyside, OH
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby Zealot » Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:39 pm

OBS is awesome. I also use it to record. Fraps got too jittery for my taste.
Image
ImageImage ImageImage

User avatar
TigerSword
Owner and Founder
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:21 pm
Location: Warwick, RI
Contact:

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby TigerSword » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:18 pm

CF_Dawnbr3ak3r wrote:
RavenBrighid wrote:
Wonderland wrote:I used this guide to setup OBS (not Studio, but the older free version just called Software) for Twitch.

https://help.twitch.tv/customer/portal/articles/1262922-open-broadcaster-software

Sorry to bump, but this guide isn't showing up? I'm trying to figure out the best settings so I can stream as I've been having issues with it being choppy, especially when I click away from fire pro (which if I cant do that makes it hard to chat and stuff while I stream.)


If you don't have a second monitor, using the mobile app may help. Otherwise you can pop out the chat window. However, your stream feed will likely be 15+ seconds behind the actual gameplay being broadcast. I usually have my game running on one screen to watch on the OBS window and another window open on my other screen with my broadcast running as if I were another viewer.

To get your stream setup correctly, you can try the OBS Estimator and see if it helps:

http://www.obsapp.net/estimator/

You'll need to know your hardware specifications and internet speeds. For Twitch you probably don't want to surpass 3500kbps - I don't go over 3000kbps. The max you want is 4000kbps, and even then that's pretty overkill for a non-partnered stream. Anything over that and you're running the risk of being reprimanded by Twitch for abusing bandwidth.

In the case of hardware, if you system struggles with World on it's own, then it will more than likely struggle even while streaming. You'll want to set it up so that you'll be downscaling to 720p. 1080p is not worth the effort unless you have a very good PC and very good internet connection.

You'll also need your stream key which you should find by replacing "yourtwitchname" in the following link:

https://www.twitch.tv/yourtwitchname/da ... /streamkey

Copy or Right-click "Open in New Tab" will get you the full link.

You'll need to be logged in for it to show up successfully.

I suggest downloading and running TwitchTest to see which server you should ping to. If you're in the Midwest or East Coast, I recommend either the Chicago or Ashburn server.

You can download that here:

https://r1ch.net/projects/twitchtest

That should get you started.

Twitch yells at you for streaming at 4000? Crazy, YouTube insists that I stream at 4500, anything less than that and they say i'm using too little bandwidth.
Image
Image

User avatar
CF_Dawnbr3ak3r
Community Member
Posts: 1362
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:47 am

Re: what program do you guys use to record matches?

Postby CF_Dawnbr3ak3r » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:34 pm

TigerSword wrote:Twitch yells at you for streaming at 4000? Crazy, YouTube insists that I stream at 4500, anything less than that and they say i'm using too little bandwidth.

If you're not partnered there's really no reason to go over that.

YouTube doesn't have filtering options as far as I'm aware.

For Twitch, anything beyond 4K is overkill for their stream service. Some of my friends are partnered streamers and even they don't go over 4K.

Some people have gone over 6K which is entirely unnecessary. Some have even gone to 10K - It's at this point where they won't question it.

You might need 4K+ for 1080p streams, however most streams I've seen have been 720p max, with some only running 720p/30 FPS.
The_PR_Dragon wrote:Dragons, Emus, and Wolves are all hearing impaired. Sounds about right.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests